Book Review: Cinder, by Marissa Meyer

ImageOh my stars! This books is absolutely wonderful! I must say, I am ashamed of myself for not reading it sooner. When I first heard of this book a few months ago, the blurb really threw me off. Cyborgs? Eh… I didn’t think I would have any interest whatsoever. I forgot about it.

But wait! It kept popping up on goodreads with stellar reviews. I was coming across people raving about it on tumblr. And I just couldn’t stop thinking about it… I HAD TO KNOW WHAT THE FUSS WAS ABOUT!

Seriously, I will never write off any other book just for not being like everything else I read. I’ve learned my lesson.

Cinder is a mechanic, living in New Beijing some time after the fourth World War. She lives with her stepmother and two stepsisters, Pearl and Peony. While Peony is her good friend, her stepmother and Pearl treat her as a second class citizen, which, in a way, she is. Cinder is not an average girl. She is a cyborg.

One day while Cinder is working at her mechanic booth in the town market, the young prince, Kai, comes seeking her assistance in repairing his android. While he tries insisting that it holds a sentimental value, Cinder is led to believe there are more important reasons for his needing the android repaired, and quickly.

Why did I love this book so much, you ask?

-Obviously this is a loose re-telling of Cinderella. The author did a STELLAR job with including all the elements from Cinderella, but still managed to create something fresh. I kept thinking the whole time, ‘WOW! What an amazing imagination! I could NEVER have thought of all this!’ No, really, I was truly amazed.

-The futuristic aspects. I was completely ENAMORED with Zenon: Girl of the 21st Century when I was younger, always envisioning living in space and all that jazz. The idea of a whole colony of people living on the moon made me all kinds of crazy excited. I was fascinated with the history of the Lunar people.

-CINDER! I absolutely loved her to pieces!

And many, many more reasons that I’m not going to tell you, because you just need to read it. Seriously, do it now. You won’t regret it.

One thought on “Book Review: Cinder, by Marissa Meyer

  1. Pingback: Book of The Month: Cinder by Marissa Meyer | Jen's Pen Den

Leave a Reply

