Oh, the feels

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke & The Bookish. This past month as I was contemplating bringing the blog back, I was checking out all the different lists people came up with, so I am very excited to finally have my own!

So, without further ado:

Top Ten Books That Made Me Cry

  • The entire Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling, with emphasis on Prisoner of Azkaban, Half-Blood Prince, and Deathly HallowsThis whole book series was my childhood. I wouldn’t even be the person I am today had it not been for the Harry Potter series. Out of the seven books, these were the three that took the biggest emotional toll on me. 
  • Tell The Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt. The first book (besides the Harry Potter books) that I was able to read after my dad passed away. I wasn’t able to finish anything I tried to read for months after his death, but this book pulled me back.  
  • The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson. A very interesting love story with time travel and art and mental illness throughout. The ending was, in one word, breathtaking. I loved it. 
  • I Know this Much Is True by Wally Lamb. This was a hard one to get through, due to size and content. A very difficult yet touching read.
  • Night by Elie Wiesel. I remember reading this in high school, and I finished the book in one night. My teacher didn’t even believe me when I said I was done. Knowing the truth behind the words in this book made it one of the biggest tearjerkers of all time. 
  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. I felt that this book was written for me when I was in high school. I was a socially anxious loner who needed someone to relate to, and Charlie was that person. 
  • The Diary of Anne Frank by Anne Frank. The one book that I make sure to re-read at least once every year. Without a doubt one of the most touching things I’ve ever read. 
  • The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. Trying to imagine myself as Claire in this book and wondering how I could live with what she lives with? Impossible. 
  • Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins. One word- Prim. 
  • The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides. A book that still haunts me to this day. 

This list is actually not in any particular order. Also, it was very hard for me to only pick ten, because I am highly emotional and become completely invested in a great story. 

Leave a Reply

