Cress!

ImageCress by Marissa Meyer

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Pages: 560

Source & Format: preordered from Amazon; hardcover

Amazon // The Book Depository

Synopsis from Goodreads: Rapunzel’s tower is a satellite. She can’t let down her hair—or her guard.

In this third book in the bestselling Lunar Chronicles series, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army. 

Their best hope lies with Cress, who has been trapped on a satellite since childhood with only her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker—unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice. 

When a daring rescue goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing stop her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only ones who can.

Screen shot 2014-02-06 at 8.22.29 PM

The Lunar Chronicles is one of those series that I tried to avoid reading for the longest time. It just seemed to be too popular and too different from my normal tastes, and I thought I would absolutely hate it. I finally conceded defeat and borrowed Cinder from my library, and I was hooked. I quickly purchased both of the two books that were already available (Cinder & Scarlet), and preordered my copy of Cress, knowing I needed it asap.

Cress picks off immediately where Scarlet left off, with Cinder, Scarlet, Captain Thorne, Wolf, and Iko escaping on the Rampion. While making plans to stop the wedding of Prince Kai and Queen Levana, they also decide to rescue Cress, a hacker who has been imprisoned on a satellite and works for the Lunar queen against her will. In the midst of her escape, the group gets separated.

I think my favorite thing about Cress was the alternating POV storyline. I enjoyed getting to know all of the different characters, especially Scarlet, who quickly became my favorite after I first read the second book. Also, it is impossible not to fall in love with Cress. She is absolutely adorable, and I found myself relating to her immediately. Meyer did a fantastic job of showing the lack of social skills in Cress, and showing the hope she holds in her heart, throughout everything she sees in the world. I enjoyed Cress’s POV so much in this book; the way she played out imaginary scenarios in her head in order to cope with the things she was facing was something incredibly relatable. I myself do it all the time, and I love Meyer for creating this character.

Screen shot 2014-02-06 at 8.21.55 PM“She was a girl. A living girl, smart and sweet and awkward and unusual, and she was worth far more than they could ever realize.”

“Knees suddenly weak, she reached for his forearms to stabilize herself. ‘You came for me.’

He beamed, looking for all the world like a selfless, daring hero.

‘Don’t sound so surprised.'”

“Iko bent toward her. ‘That dress looks amazing on you,’ she said. ‘Cinder, doesn’t she look amazing?’

Cinder sighed as the elevator came to a full stop. ‘Iko, after this we’re going to start working on occasion appropriateness.'”

Screen shot 2014-02-06 at 8.22.37 PM

Overall, I think this might be my favorite book from the series, at least so far, as Winter is yet to be published 😉 I must applaud Meyer for the way she can take the classic fairytales we all know and give them such an imaginative spin. It’s highly obvious that she has a wonderful imagination and zest for storytelling. I can’t wait for 2015!

 

Thanks for reading!

Screen shot 2014-02-06 at 8.50.47 PM

 

Leave a comment